Hummus Elite
Hummus Elite    /    Sunday - Thursday: 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM    /    Friday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM    /    Saturday: Closed    /    201.569.5600
4 stars - based on 77 reviews
Glatt Kosher Middle Eastern / Mediterranean Cuisine
What is Kosher Food?

Foods considered “kosher” are foods that abide by the Jewish Halakhic laws, which describe foods permitted to be eaten by members of the Jewish faith according to statements found in Leviticus 11:1-47. Food considered “nonkosher” include meat taken from animals that were not properly (ritualistically) killed, along with any combination of milk, meat or grape juice (wine) that was not manufactured according to Halakhic laws. Additionally, any produce originating from Israel not tithed is considered nonkosher and unacceptable according to Jewish laws. Tithing involves removing slightly more than one percent of the product, throwing away this portion and reciting specific passages from the Torah.

Interesting Information about Kosher Food
While Jewish dietary rules originated in Deuteronomy 17, Leviticus 11 and the Torah, rabbinical authorities have re-interpreted and codified these rules throughout the centuries to adapt to societal and cultural changes involving the Jewish people
Although no clear reasons exist for kosher laws, many believe they were influenced by heeding necessary sanitation and health practices in a time when it was difficult to avoid eating spoiled or contaminated food.
Kosher food is not blessed by rabbis. Food is made kosher by the methods used in its preparation and cooking. For example, food considered strictly Jewish such as matzah ball soup is not automatically kosher until it has been prepared according to Jewish Halakhic laws.
The Bible states that rabbit, pork and seafood not possessing scales or fins are nonkosher, as is reptiles, insects and all scavenger birds such as hawks and owls. For meat to be kosher, it must have been killed in a specific manner. Animals that die due to an attack from another animal or from natural causes are not kosher. Slaughtering animals to produce kosher meat includes killing them quickly and humanely, usually by cutting the throat. Creatures with cloven hooves and chew cud, such as sheep, cattle and goats, are considered kosher but should be killed in this manner to remain kosher.
The Torah states that an animal needs emptied of blood before it can be eaten, since the blood is said to contain the soul. Kosher meat is made by salting, broiling and soaking, a process that should be done within 72 hours following the killing of the animal.
All vegetables and fruits are kosher. However, each fruit or vegetable is inspected for any worms or insects since the presence of these bugs would cause the food to be nonkosher.
Dairy and meat items cannot be mixed together in recipes or other food dishes. Jewish people observing the Halakhic laws must wait three to six hours between eating a meat item and a dairy item, or vice versa.
Utensils used to prepare kosher food must be kosher as well. For example, cookware used to cook meat cannot be used to cook milk, eggs, cheese and other dairy foods. However, this only applies to hot food that involves the passing of food to kitchen utensil and from kitchen utensil to food.

Because it is not permissible to mix meat and dairy products, kosher kitchens always have two sets of dishes and cooking utensils in addition to two separate counters for preparing dairy and meat items. This practice originates from a commandment found in Deuteronomy and Exodus: “you shall not boil a kid in its mother’s milk” (Exodus 23:19 and 34:26, Deuteronomy 14:21).
Glatt Kosher
Kosher Food Delivery
Order Hummus Online
facebook icon yelp icon zaggat icon yellowpages icon google icon urbanspoon icon
(201) 569-5600
hummus elite menu
Hummus Elite 2013 © All Rights Reserved   |   39 East Palisade Avenue   |   Englewood, NJ 07631   |   201.569.5600 Website Design and Development by Graphic Advance